Treating Addiction With Hempseed


Addiction is a physical or psychological dependance on a substance or behavior, despite the negative circumstances. (I should clarify right here, habit is something done by choice; addiction is not having control over the choices.)

Addiction is a brain disorder, and it doesn’t just pertain to drugs or alcohol. Addiction can include ANY substance or behavior – food, sex, tobacco, shopping, hoarding, chocolate – the list can be quite extensive.

“Addiction is Habitual psychological or physiologic dependence on a substance or practice that is beyond voluntary control.” (medicalnewstoday.com)

Now, I am sure you are asking, “So, what does hemp have to do with addiction?”

Addiction, being a brain disorder, can be helped by substances that ‘feed’ the brain, in this case – Omega fatty acids from hemp. When addiction is the result of psychological imbalance, hempseed or hempseed oil can help.

The brain is composed mainly of fatty acids. When we have a deficiency of Omega fatty acids we can experience addiction, depression, bipolar disorder, even Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s.

So, let’s get back to the addiction aspect. When the brain has an imbalance or deficiency in Omega fatty acids, it can wreak havoc on our mental, emotional, and physical health.

Nobel Prize nominee Dr. Johanna Budwig suggests that EFAs have been helpful in treating addictions to alcohol, cigarettes, drugs, and sex-and-violence patterns. EFAs enable a person to manage stress better: nerve and brain functions stabilize, and the electric currents across the brain’s cell membranes increase, inducing a person to feel calmer and more focused.” (innvista.com)

Better brain function – in this case, stabilized brain function – can help with addictive behaviors.

Hempseed has the perfect 3:1 ratio of Omega fatty acids needed by the human body. It is also an excellent source for other important nutrients. It is, in fact, one of the most nutrient rich and nutrient dense plant sources available to us.  The Omega fatty acids are in the hempseed as well as the hempseed oil. Daily intake of hempseed is a super way to get the daily recommended amount of essential fatty acids.

*This post is strictly for information. I do not (and cannot) recommend anyone stopping their prescribed medications, if they are on them. If you DO have questions, or want to discontinue your meds, please contact your health care provider.

5 responses to “Treating Addiction With Hempseed

  1. GREAT info HempHealer! I couldn’t agree more! I battled addiction for many years and sure wish I would have set aside my skepticism, and stubbornness way back when. Could have saved myself a lot of headaches! It’s only been within the last 6 months on consuming Hemp on a daily basis that I now understand the real meaning of Well-Being! In the 5 years of being clean, I’ve never felt this great. It’s like my brain and my body thank me everyday for finally giving it what it’s really been craving this whole time! Thanks Again!!!

  2. Becca,
    This is a really cool article. You know i told my son about Hemphoria helping with circulation but i had no idea that it would help with circulation of the brain. You know they tested me for MS and they (foctors)said that i have a part of my brain that is not getting enough blood. therefore, a section of my brain isn’t getting enough blood supply. The Foctors also said that i have some damage to meylin sheith (lessions) now i am going to quit smoking as soon as i get on my hemp regimine or shortly after so that should improve the circulation of my entire body. Now, hu hum! Addiction, my life time buddy, LOL. Now it’s carbs that i wake up in the middle of the night to eat! The medication that i am on or have been on has my sugar (glucose) levels fluctuating so much that i crave sugar. I have slowed down on the creepy night time craving but my insulin levels are out of wack. Ok, I’ll share the secret (mine). 2 weeks ago i woke up apparently 3 times and I ate 3 choc. and vanilla icecreams. In my semi conscience state. I woke up in the morning with chocolate all over my white comforter! I remember (coming to) with my icecream still in hand but laying on my bed. So i did what any other sugar addict would do, I ate it, LOL. I am hoping that your product is the answer i have been looking for. A supplument to add to my already (changing diet and life) that will give me better quality of life. I’ll keep you up to date. Love to you Becca.

  3. Oh forgot something! The foctors sais that on the lessions on my brain there is NO calcification yet. lets get the hemp rolling so i don’t get any! So if they (the foctors) can’t find proof that i have MS then I’m going to stop what ever is happening before they can! Light and love to you. Peace. Cathy

    “PHYSICIAN HEAL THYSELF”

Leave a Reply

