My Mission – Healing Through Hemp Education


 

“Everything on the earth has a purpose, every disease an herb (plant) to cure it, and every person a mission. This is the Indian theory of existence.”
-Mourning Dove (Salish) 1888-1936

Today’s post is taking a little bit of a personal track. I had several topics in mind, and while scrolling through Facebook I saw the above quote. I knew then what I was going to write for today’s post.

Have you ever had those moments in your life when you weren’t sure what your purpose was? Trust me, I’ve had many of those. And now I actually have SEVERAL missions in my life – hemp education and legalization is but one of them.

But first, a little history: hemp has been used throughout the world for thousands of years.

The oldest Chinese agricultural treatise is the Xia Xiao Zheng written circa the 16th century BC, which names hemp as one of the main crops grown in ancient China.” (Yu 1987)

Almost 4000 years ago the Aryans (Indo-Persians) brought Cannabis to regions of India. It was used as food and medicine.

The oldest relic of history from humans using hemp is a piece of hemp fabric which as been dated to 8,000 BC. It is from Mesopotamia (what we know as Turkey today). Hemp has been grown as long as recorded history (and probably beyond) for fuel, food, and textiles.)

The ancient Greeks used hemp for cordage and textiles.

It is said that in 500 BC Gautama Buddha, during his travels, survived by eating hempseed.

Pliny the Younger, in 100 AD, teaches of the uses of industrial hemp and writes manuals on how to farm hemp.

In the 1800s Australia suffered from 2 prolonged famines; populations survived by eating industrial hempseed (for their protein) and hemp leaves as a vegetable.

And, in all of known recorded history, industrial hemp has been used for medicine. The hempseeds (not leaves) have been praised for having excellent nutritional and healing properties.

Good nutrition is one the the building blocks of health.  Hempseed is one of the most nutritious plant foods known to man. Hempseed is a complete protein. It has all the essential amino acids found in meat; it is 35% protein (65% of which is edestin protein, the protein closest to human globulin which makes it easily digestible); it has the perfect 3:1 ratio of Omega fatty acids (which are needed for brain, eye, cellular, heart, skin, organ, blood, and hair health).

Hempseed is full of vitamins and minerals and also has chlorophyll, fiber, calcium, and iron.

Now, why is all this important to me? Why have I made this one of my missions in life?

3 years ago I didn’t know squat about industrial hemp. I thought it was marijuana. I didn’t know that it was good for my health, and I certainly didn’t know that it was good for the planet, for our environment. I had no idea that hemp could replace fossil fuels and anything made with fossil petroleum products.

I read voraciously, I studied, I dug deep into hemp history. And I discovered amazing stories and historical facts about how hemp can cure diseases, eradicate starvation, heal the soil, clean the air, supply us with energy, and boost our economy (if we in the U.S. could legally farm it).

Most importantly, I experienced for myself the wonderful attributes of industrial hemp. When I incorporated hemp into my diet I lost weight, my cravings were reduced, my migraines became fewer and farther apart, I slept better, I felt energized. My body felt alive, I ‘felt’ my cells awaken. My eyesight improved, my sense of smell improved. My mind became more ‘awake’.

I am a level 2 reiki healer. And I found that when hemp was part of my diet, I was more connected to myself, both spiritually and physically. This helped me become more able to help others through the reiki and intuitive healing.

I then read about why hemp was prohibited in the U.S. I also realized that my prior beliefs about hemp were due to the propaganda that we’ve been fed since the early 1900s. I believe the lies. I didn’t know any differently! And I never thought to question it at all. Until 3 years ago.

I didn’t like that fact that I had been ‘sucked in’ – essentially, ‘brainwashed’. I didn’t like the fact that this plant, this herb, this ‘fruit of the earth’ that fed and clothed and healed us for thousands of years was now banned because of its threat to oil, chemical, pharmaceutical, and timber industries. And I realized also that the ‘medicines’ that replaced hemp were doing more damage than good. (I am not totally knocking pharmaceutical medicines, some do help. But, have you read the warning leaflets on some drugs, as well as the side effects?)

For too long we were cheated of the medicine that truly does heal, from planting as seed in the soil to harvest of seed and stalk. Hemp heals the ground as it grows, heals the air, fertilizes the soil after harvest, and heals our bodies when we eat it.

It’s time to go back to natural healing with natural nutrition. Most of our diseases are either from nutritional deficiency, chemicals in foods, or toxins in the environment. Because hempseed is so nutritionally dense, it is a perfect healthy solution (and can also eradicate starvation in countries where food is scarce).

Industrial hemp farming and processing, industrial hemp as fuel, as food, as textiles (uses less chemicals and water in processing than cotton), as medicine ~ in all these areas hemp is the healthier choice.

As you can see, I am very passionate about this beautiful, nutritious plant that can only do good. And so, I’ve found my mission – education and speaking out about the plant that for nearly 100 years in the U.S. has been ostracized and prohibited to farm.

I am but one voice, but I am a powerful one.

3 responses to “My Mission – Healing Through Hemp Education

  1. I’m all in because of you. Gonna find out all I can about hemp. My significant other has had retinopathy because of type 2 diabetes. Hemp will help, I’m sure. I’m about, and he’s about, to be healthier because of you. Thanks.

  2. I am going to research the possibility of hemp helping with Chronic Constipation due to prescription Narcotics (including a fentanyl patch) & maybe even helping with muscle pain/nerve pain caused by spinal damage.

Leave a Reply

