Hemp – How It Is Helping Me Recuperate


My self-imposed blogging break has come to an end, and now that my neurons are firing at rapid speed it is time to let the words flow again!

It’s been a challenging month, with a few weeks of health issues – along with that came the emotional and mental turmoil as well. I am now admitting to the world that I allowed myself to get carried away with stress and anxiety which appeared when I was dealing with some significant pain from an injury.

Because I wasn’t feeling well (yes, I know, poor excuse) I did not eat well, both in proportion and quality of foods. So, I’ve jumped back on the bandwagon – more fresh, unprocessed foods, veggies, fruits, and yes…hemp seeds. In fact, at this moment while I am writing I’ve got my bag of Nutiva hemp seeds right next to me.

Yes, I know that I’ve preached about hempseed being anti-inflammatory and good for mental health – for a few weeks I didn’t practice what I preached, and what a mistake THAT was!

I’ll tell you a little of what I’ve been going through, and then will follow that with WHY hemp is so good for that condition. (No, it won’t be a novel, I promise!)

I took a slip in the shower a few weeks ago and wrenched my neck and back. And I did a very good job it it! (I don’t do things half-assed, as a rule.) What followed were daily migraines, cluster headaches, neck and back pain, stiffness, leg pain, and inability to get comfortable, thus resulting in very poor sleep and exhaustion.

Hemp, as I said before, is anti-inflammatory. The Omega 3 fatty acids in hemp (which has the perfect 3:1 ratio of Omega fatty acids for the human body) are the components which work to reduce inflammation by soothing, protecting, and healing the cells.

In addition to the headaches and pain and difficulty moving around, I was also experiencing great amounts of stress and anxiety – resulting in panic attacks almost daily, dizziness, and heart palpitations. I have generally (ok, all my life) been an anxious person. Stress could be my middle name. Now, diet alone will not eradicate stress, but it does HELP, in addition to participating in stress-relieving activities (meditation, yoga, exercise). I had gotten to the point where my mind would NOT SHUT UP. It was a lot of fear-based lack thinking, worrying, and fretting. I was jumpy, emotional, impatient, and just plain frazzled. I would wake several times during the night, either from panic or worry.

Last Friday I was feeling so unwell that I went to the local fire department to get my blood pressure checked. It was 190/110. Yes, I know. Not good. The EMT checked the pressure in my other arm – the result was the same. His partner asked, “Ma’am, are you feeling ok?” I paused, thinking, If I felt ok I wouldn’t be here, right? but I kindly said, “I am not needing an ambulance ride to the emergency room, but I am not feeling really well. I just wanted to try to find a reason for all the stuff that is going on with my body and my head.” They both encouraged me to get to a doctor, but I told them I did not have insurance. I was then sternly lectured. “You do NOT want to wait until this is an emergency and the have to call us, ride in the ambulance, then have a more serious problem to deal with.” They then proceeded to tell me all the signs I needed to pay attention to or look for that would be cause for greater concern.

By this time I was in a panic again and the chest pains and headache had worsened. I drove home; halfway there I decided I’d call my son and have him drive me to the emergency room.

They checked my vitals, blood pressure was still high but not quite as high as when I was at the fire department. They did an EKG, monitored my blood pressure for 30 minutes, gave me Valium, Vicodin, and anti-nausea meds along with Motrin. After a bit they asked me how I was feeling. “The same, no change.”

The doctor came in and checked my neck and back, asked a lot of questions, and then looked at me and said, “Your EKG is fine. I want you to go to the chiropractor as soon as possible, that will help with the pain, and I want you to RELAX. You are fine, you are not having a heart attack, you are not having a serious medical emergency.” They prescribed Valium and Vicodin (which I have NOT had filled) and sent me on my way.

I left feeling somewhat better, because in reality, knowing is half the cure. It was also a reminder to get back on my relaxation exercises and EAT HEALTHIER again.

The brain is composed mainly of fatty acids, and when there is a deficiency it can cause depression, headaches, dizziness, and a reduced ability to handle stress and anxiety.  Hemp’s Omega fatty acids help restore balance in the brain, bringing about calmer thinking and improved sleep.

So, as I sit here writing and munching, I realize that I am feeling better, more rested, in less pain – and I am again reminded of the wonderful plant that really IS an amazing medicine.

4 responses to “Hemp – How It Is Helping Me Recuperate

  1. So sorry that you have had a hard time lately.but truth is that hemp heals, period! I hope you feel better and i hate to ask now but i have been out of pulse for about 5 days and i’m feeling it. WOW. confussion is back and hitting hard. Can you plz send me over the link to order again? i promise i’ll save it okay, need to get it ordered as i can not stand the food that they eat around here, never have, liked junk. But due to my circumstances i’ve had to eat what’s hear u know? or not eat and i know that i have not been R/O) for MS and that is especially unhealthy for me. So anyway, it has been proven to me that hemp is a wonder food, medicine, etc….. OUR GOV> SUX.. for keeeping this from us, poisoning our air with chem trails and flouride, etc.. I’ll never stop eating hemp, ever. I would rather eat 2 oz of pulse with a small yogurt all day( whic i love anyway) than to eat chit!! My body is speaking to me. Anyway, dear friens.. SLOW DOWN OKAY, n take cae of you. Light and love, cathy McMartin

  2. When you look at the price of eating out, groceries, Vitamins, etc.. then compare it to the price of Pulse, which i use throughout my day and mixed with yogurt or cottage cheese for a yummy meal, then realistically your food cost don’t go up that much. The benefits out weigh the little extra that you pay for this super food. If i eat crap food i feel like crap the next day. When i eat pulse, take my hemphoria and Pulse 8 (which i just started) i feel really good. Unclogged and fresh, hope that makes sense. For those of you who are into metaphysics, at all, you will notice your vibration get faster/higher, if you suffer from depression and the confussion that comes along with it, this helps more than any anti depresant that i have tried. WHY has this been kept from us????????? WHY? Try it you will feel the difference in a week or two. This is a promise. Light ansd love to you. Catherine Mc Martin

Leave a Reply

