Emergence from the Ashes


Image

 

I often see myself as the Phoenix, the beautiful, mythical bird that dies by fire and regenerates from the ashes. 

 

We all have trials, whether they stem from outside circumstances or painful inner work. I used to think that I wanted an easy, carefree, drama-free, no-bumps-in-the-road life, but I found that just the opposite was needed to carry me on my path to self discovery, remembrance, and growth.

 

I’ve been in the depths of the fiery pits of despair, depression, bipolar, and fear more than once, and the climb out was excruciating. A few times I didn’t climb out…I had to give in to the impending implosion and let it burn off another layer of myself in rebirth that was no longer serving me. 

 

What appeared was a newer, fresher me with a different outlook on life and a new perspective of self. Those fiery episodes helped me develop courage, strength, wisdom, and clarity. 

 

Perhaps I’ll become the Phoenix again, only to reappear even more vibrant and evolved. One more time? Many times? Who knows? But what is certain is that no matter what, I”ll always have a bit of Phoenix in me. 

 

( photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/ryanmacca/3040287674/”>Ryan McCurdy</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt; )

Leave a Reply

