Just for Today


Image

Many of us have had days where we’ve been stressed to the breaking point. I admit, I’ve had more of those days than I can count. I know, some would say, “Where is your faith?”

Many of our stresses are brought on by ourselves, often the results of decisions or actions that we maybe shouldn’t have done, or by wrong thought. (“Right self talk is VERY important!)

I’ve had many days where I just felt like I wanted to get in the car and drive away from it all. Just when I think I’ve reached my limit, when I’ve got chest pains, anxiety, upset stomach, headaches…things turned around. It doesn’t mean that life still doesn’t show up with potholes and huge mountains to traverse, but these are opportunities for me to practice breathing, stay as calm as possible, and know that all will work out in the best way.

As a reiki practitioner, I have learned that I can send reiki not only to people, animals, plants, machines, but to events and occasions as well. One phrase that helps me get through the dark times was written by Mikao Usui, the founder of reiki:

I – Just for today, I will not be angry.

II – Just for today, I will not worry.

III – Just for today, I will be grateful.

IV – Just for today, I will do my work honestly.

V- Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing.

These are reminders to stay in the moment, take things a day at a time, and have faith that in the end all works out for the best.

Leave a Reply

