My Story Is About To Be Told!


secret cover

“Tear down the walls you’ve built up to hide your magnificent self.

The world craves to know you, to taste you, to feel you, to experience you.

Live your truth, bask in it, embrace it.

Be large and be wild…about YOU!”

Becca Inspires

 

Over the past several years I’ve had a few friends tell me, “You should write your story!” At first I laughed it off. I mean, really? Who wants to read about my struggles and triumphs? I’ve not done anything that warrants fame, nor have I done anything that places me in the halls of infamy…so why on EARTH would anyone be interested in what I have to say?

Fast forward to last year.

I was in a conversation with an acquaintance, and we were talking about life, and how bumps in the road appear and how we need to get over those bumps, or climb out of the potholes. He said a few things to me that I took as less than kind, and even though my life is not his business, I could feel his anger toward me (perhaps that was his way of showing concern, but it certainly felt less than compassionate). We also chit-chatted about some of my posts on Facebook, and how it was my goal to inspire others, mainly through writing.

I was told (I am paraphrasing here) that I had not reached the ‘enlightened’ stage yet, and until I was, I was in no way capable of writing a book that could inspire others on their journey. I had the sense that he was wanting to make me out to be a hypocrite! There was more said, but you’ve got the gist of the conversation.

That exchange fueled me and lit a fire under me! The next day I had a large portion of the outline done for my memoir, as well as a good portion of the body of the transcript. How dare someone tell me I can’t do something because I’m not ‘there’ yet, or good enough? He had never walked a centimeter in my shoes, nor was he in a place to tell me what I could or could not do!

So, because of that exchange, Finding Becca: The Remembrance of My Juicy, Passionate, Divine Self was born.

Writing my story isn’t just about selling a book; it is an opportunity to look over my life, especially the past ten years, and recount all the opportunities I found to open long-held emotional wounds and begin the process of releasing and healing them. It’s also an avenue to remember who I really am and remove all the illusions that I allowed to hold me in places that were less than healthy: spiritually, emotionally, and physically.

Writing my story brought many tears and much sorrow and heartache. I realized how long I had buried those pains deeply inside me and let them stew until the pain became so great I had to let it out. At times it felt as if I was being battered all over again.

Now, with the book nearly finished, I can say that it was one of the best things I’ve done for myself.

I have the cover concept finalized and now just need to take the photos. The forepages are nearly done, and dedications are next. It’s hard to believe that this beautiful baby is about to be birthed into the world. What a painful yet exhilarating ride it’s been!

And now, yes, here’s the shameless pitch!! I’ve started a GoFundMe account to help raise funds to publish my book. I had to swallow my pride in doing this (and shed a few fearful, ashamed tears), but I knew that it was what I had to do to get the momentum going and have the chance to get this book in the hands of those whom it may help or inspire. So, I’m asking you – if you feel so led, I’d be grateful if you could donate to help me get my baby published. If you cannot donate, sharing is just as helpful!

You, my loyal readers, are very important to me, and I cannot tell you how grateful I am for the past two years that you’ve stuck with me and read my blog, commented, and shared (we’ve reached 120,482 views and 171 countries  at this moment!). It’s been my pleasure to share, connect, educate, and inspire!

P.S. Don’t forget to check out the ‘thank you’ gifts on my GoFundMe page for those who feel led to donate!

Screen Shot 2014-07-23 at 3.15.44 PM

 

Namasté,

Becca

Leave a Reply

