I’ve Gone Shampoo-Free and I’ll Never Go Back!


August 7 No Shampoo Experiment

 

A few days ago I started a ‘no shampoo’ experiment…for a few reasons.

 

First, I didn’t like spending a lot of money on shampoo. Second, cheap shampoos stripped my hair so badly and made it dry and frizzy, then I’d have to finish with conditioner or creme rinse or detangler so that I could run a brush through it when I was finished. Third, I wasn’t pleased with all the chemicals that were going on my hair, my body, and into the septic/drain field. So, I started washing my scalp with a mixture of baking soda and water (1 part baking soda to 4 parts water). I didn’t worry about the rest of my hair, because when rinsing, the solution would have covered it anyway. I do a quick scalp massage, then rinse. Next, I do a rinse with organic apple cider vinegar (1 part vinegar to 4 parts water). And then the finishing touch: a cool water rinse.

 

All I can say is, WOW! My hair feels softer, more supple, and I do NOT need conditioner or detangler afterward. The natural oils keep it moisturized. My hair feels healthier, stronger, and more supple (which is great for me, since I’ve long hair and plan on growing it longer)! If you have gone shampoo free, or plan on trying it, please let me know your results. If you want, send a photo and I’ll post it in a follow up blog!

 

Namasté

 

Afterthought: If you are concerned about smelling like a freshly made salad vinaigrette, don’t worry! The faint vinegar scent dissipates in a few minutes and then all you are left with is hair that smells clean and fresh!

 

 

5 responses to “I’ve Gone Shampoo-Free and I’ll Never Go Back!

  1. I’ve been doing this for about two months and have had really good success! My hair isn’t oily, nor my scalp, which is what I thought it would be. My hair is more clean and manageable than with shampoos and conditioners (‘natural’ ones). I was amazed at the ease and at the results. And so much better on the wallet, too!

    • Anita, It’s amazing what 2 simple ingredients can do to achieve beautiful, clean hair, hmm? And I was just thinking of all the decades of buying soaps, shampoos, and conditioners and how much $ that took! Of course, if I want a deep condition, I can simply do a hempseed oil/egg concoction and wrap my hair for 30 minutes. Again, inexpensive and easy remedies!

  2. Pingback: AGE DEFYING HAIR

Leave a Reply

