Who are the Courageous Heroes?


Courage

I was finally able to catch up with news and watched Caitlyn Jenner’s speech at the ESPYs. She was wonderful!

Of COURSE the haters came out in full force.

The most courageous acts are those where we allow the world to see our REAL SELVES. Much of our society is steeped in judgment, anger, and fear. For some, the biggest fear is rejection. We want to be accepted, to be loved, to be supported and empowered, no matter who we are or what we do with our lives.

I’ve often said that baring one’s soul is much more frightening than baring one’s body. “Normalcy” (I DETEST this word) is seen as more acceptable than being original. Why must we copy others to be accepted?

I told all 3 of my kids years ago, “I don’t care if you are gay, straight, bisexual. I don’t care if you worship the sun or the grass growing. All that matters is that you be who you are without fear. I love you unconditionally. Period. You are who you are. And I’ll be DAMNED if any of you feel like you have to take your own life because you feel like you are unaccepted or wrong for being YOU.”

Now, who is a true hero? ANYONE who has the courage to live and be in such a way that it feeds their soul. ANYONE whose courage to speak out prevents a child from taking their own life. ANYONE who speaks out for acceptance and respect toward any human being, no matter their color or sexual orientation.

This world is FULL of heroes, and it’s the voices of those heroes that should be heard. Whether those voices are from musicians, actors, athletes, the newspaper delivery man down the street, or the hairdresser in your neighborhood, the single mom working 3 jobs to feed her children…you can bet that yes, they ARE heroes.

I’d bet that many of those who are screaming the loudest against Caitlyn Jenner haven’t lifted a finger or a voice to save a life. In fact, their words and actions are doing just the opposite.

So I, as a bisexual woman, (and this is the first time I’ve said it publicly) am speaking out in my own way FOR acceptance and respect toward EVERY HUMAN BEING. I speak out for equality under the law. I speak out for justice. I speak out FOR diversity and AGAINST racism. I speak out for love and freedom. I speak out for the right to live in a way that feeds our souls and gives us the opportunity to uplift others, to live by example.

Soon the hate-filled voices will be drowned out by the love-filled voices.

‪#‎speakingmytruth ‬‪#‎lovemeasIam‬ ‪#‎onelove‬

Leave a Reply

